Sweet N’ Spice Blackbean Chili Sin Carne

The mention of chili spurs a yawn in me. Yet, it’s so delicious and teeming with full-bodied satisfaction. The  first document for chili con carne (chili with meat)  was put on paper in the 17th century by Sister Mary of Agreda of Spain. What history books reveal next is a variety of legends and proclamations hovering around Texas, all by Spanish emigrants spieling the Chile pepper an aphrodisiac. I concur on this one. (Note* http://www.theochocolate.com makes a ‘chili dark chocolate’ bar. To date my favorite chocolate trip.)

Next, The Texas chili went national at an exposition in Chicago. But let’s not entirely ignore the chili town criers, purists that ‘chili ain’t got no beans’. Say Huh??? Which segues to chili with beans but no meat. This is called ‘chili sin carne’. Get a load a’ this: Here’s some eclectic chili ingredients over the eons: sweetcorn, peanuts, butter, pineapples, bananas, oranges, tomatillos, beer, chorizo, cocoa, coffee, tequila, cola, honey, cinnamon, whiskey, bourbon, and …..potatoes???

My yawning over chili dates back to childhood; I ate everything, even chewed on bone marrow, but always felt a disgruntled underwhelmed-ness when chili showed up at the dinner table. It was a result of that particular recipe. No such pineapple or potatoes, but entirely the fault of no jutzpah! I’ve since invented a bad ass chili in which i cook all day over an open fire (beer and wine included in-recipe). But this post is not that– It’s 10 degrees outside. And i’m craving black beans, without meat, and it’s the post-holidays, and this new vegan diet is working swimmingly.

Simmer Together for Hours and Hours (until the greens break down. The greens add a mild sweetness plus healthy.) The herbs listed I use fresh if on hand, but wintertime leans toward dried herbs. I use loads of the herbs and powders. Overloads, actually.

Black Beans generously covered with Veg Stock (beef stock for non-vegetarians), Cabbage, Kale,Yellow Onion, 3 Bay Leaf, Thyme, Oregano, BasilParsley, Scallions, Black Pepper, Chili Powder (lots), Red Pepper Flakes (optional), Paprika, 6 Garlic Cloves plus Garlic Powder, 4-6 Tomatoes (or Large can of tomatoes or even pizza sauce), Ketchup, Vinegar, Worchestershire, Brown Sugar (I use agave syrup). Salt to taste. Top with scallions, cheese, sour cream if desired.

5 Comments

Filed under 1

5 responses to “Sweet N’ Spice Blackbean Chili Sin Carne

  1. Kay

    Now, that’s responsive. Thanks for the lucious recipe & a great read. I shall try it.

  2. Looks delicous! The veggies in their make it sound much more satisfying then a normal meat and maybe bean chilli.

  3. This chili looks wonderful, Staci. Vegan diet working? I’m a part-time vegan of sorts, and it does wonders for many things…

    • thetastyrevel

      thanx for checking out my blog, Stella. your blog is fascinating and the food gorgeous. i went vegan for a few months but it did not work for me. i became lethargic and weak and felt flulike. walking up the steps became a struggle and i couldn’t run more than a mile. so i broke the diet. i’m still meat and dairy free on most days. about twice a week i will have some animal protein. seems to be working in keeping me balanced.

  4. Hey Staci, your’e right! I did comment here a while ago (smile). Thanks for checking out my cookie post- I appreciate that…
    By the way, I meant to tell you the other day that I love your photos. I’m working on becoming a better photographer…

Leave a Reply

